interior design trend: animal hides

Animal hides have been popping up everywhere lately, perhaps most noticeably on chairs and ottomans. Personally, I love it- it just looks so cozy and warm to me. For those who aren’t as inclined to buy real hides or fur, there are many great faux fur pillows and ottomans out there that aren’t too hard to find (the cowhide ottoman below is actually a pattern printed on fabric!).

Screen Shot 2014-03-09 at 11.41.41 AM

I’m obsessed with how fluffy the rolling desk chair from PBTeen is, and I’m determined to have a cow or zebra hide rug in my house some day…I think they look especially cool in a somewhat minimalist room with white walls and lots of plants. While animal hides have typically been confined to the ground, it’s becoming very trendy to upholster furniture with them or even use them as bedding! I’m super excited about this trend. Let me know what your opinions are in the comment box below.

furry desk chair//deer hide pillow//sheepskin ottoman//zebra hide rug//cowhide chair//cowhide ottoman

*editors note: the furlicious desk chair has sold out

Leave a Reply

