music of the moment: foreign artists

I consider myself a bit of a music aficionado, however, on second thought, I’m probably not. I’m not THAT into music, but I love it, and I know about the bands I listen to. Honestly, I have no idea what that makes me. As of recently, I’ve been obsessed with foreign artists, though, to be completely truthful, this is more coincidental than purposeful…I haven’t been on YouTube searching for “great songs by people who don’t live in the U.S.” Despite that, I’ve managed to listen to mostly foreigners as of lately, and so I present to you my favorite tracks of the moment, compiled into a nice little list.

1. Fred Astaire- San Cisco

San Cisco

San Cisco is an adorable four-member band out of Australia. “Fred Astaire” is super upbeat and I find that it’s great to clean to, even if you really don’t end up cleaning because you’re dancing too much (I speak from personal experience).

 

 

2. Latch (feat. Sam Smith)- Disclosure

latchI’m obsessed with this song. The vocals are killer, and the beat is amazing. The pairing of the two is mildly surprising but it works so, so well. It’s really nicely mixed, and unlike most DJ-esque songs, you can actually sing along to this, and clearly, I like to sing. Plus, the sound is super smooth so big bonus points for Sam Smith, who does the vocals on this track.

3. Chelsea Dagger- The Fratellis

the fratellis

Okay this song is awesome. It’s one of those songs that is kinda infectious. Also, when I heard it for the first time last week, I would’ve sworn I’d heard it before. So if anyone knows where it’s from (I’m thinking a movie or something?), PLEASE let me know. It’s been driving me crazy, and google hasn’t been much help.

Anyways, The Fratellis are from England, and they rock. They’ve got a really nice rock sound, and they’re great to listen to while driving (at least that’s what I do).

4. When We Fall- Timshel

when wefallI am OBSESSED with this band. They’re from Finland, and to be totally honest, I have no idea how I stumbled across them, but I’m happy they did. They have a really wonderful, happy tone that’s a bit mellow, but just generally upbeat, and even if you don’t usually sing or dance, you’ll be (at the very least) tapping your foot to the beat by the end of this song. If you only check out one song on this list, let this one be it!

5. Save Me- Gotye

GotyeMakingMirrorsGotye gained a whole lot of fame for his Grammy-winning hit, Somebody That I Used to Know, which is fantastic, however it has led to his other music being more or less looked over. Which is sad. Save Me is a really great song, and it’s nice and mellow while still having somewhat upbeat vocals. The music video kind of weirds me out though, so I linked this to another video on youtube.

Leave a Reply

